DNS server configuration in Packet Tracer


A Domain Name System (DNS) server resolves host names into IP addresses. Although we can access a network host using its IP address, DNS makes it easier by allowing us use domain names which are easier to remember. For example its much easier to access google website by typing http://www.google.com as compared to typing http://208.117.229.214. In either case, you’ll access google website, but using domain name is obviously easier.

Now, before any host can use a DNS service, we must configure  a DNS server  first. For example, when you type the URL http://www.google.com in your browser, the host will query the DNS server for the IP address of http://www.google.com. The DNS server will resolve  http://www.google.com into an IP address then answer back the host with the IP address.

Now let’s configure a DNS server in Packet Tracer.

1.Build the network topology.

Topology

2.Configure static IP addresses on the PCs and the server.

Server

IP address: 192.168.1.2   Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0  Default gateway: 192.168.1.1  DNS Server: 192.168.1.2

server ip config

 

PC0

IP add: 192.168.1.3    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0  Default gateway: 192.168.1.1  DNS server: 192.168.1.2

PC0 static IP configuration

 

PC1

IP address: 192.168.1.4   Subnet mask:  255.255.255.0  Default gateway: 192.168.1.1  DNS Server: 192.168.1.2

PC1 static ip configuration

 

3.Configure DNS service on the generic server.

To do this, click on the server, then Click on Services tab. Click on DNS server from the menu. First  turn ON the DNS service, then define names of the hosts and their corresponding IP addresses.

For example, to specify the DNS entry for PC0: In the name and address fields, type:

Name:  PC0     Address: 192.168.1.3

Click on add then save. Repeat this for the PC1 and the server.

Once you’re done, your DNS entries will look like this:

DNS server config

Finally,

4. Test domain name – IP resolution. Ping the hosts from one another using their names instead of their IP addresses. If the DNS service is turned on and all IP configurations are okay, then ping should work.

For example, ping PC1 from PC0. Ping should be successful.

ping test from pc0 to pc1

Success! Success!

Hope you found this tutorial of use to you. Leave a comment in the comments section to help improve it. Likes are welcome too.

You may also like to read:

 

 

49 Replies to “DNS server configuration in Packet Tracer”

  1. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Wonderful blog and great design.

    Like

  2. Appreciating the dedication you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a
    while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Great read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for any other magnificent article. The place
    else may just anybody get that type of info in such a perfect means of writing?
    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the look for such information.

    Like

  4. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

    Like

  5. Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of
    the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show
    the same outcome.

    Like

  6. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your
    blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of
    folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let
    me know. Thanks

    Like

  7. This design is steller! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    Like

  8. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or
    weblog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site.
    Reading this information So i’m happy to show that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed.
    I most definitely will make sure to do not fail to remember this website and give it a look regularly.

    Like

  9. Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this website? I’m getting
    fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers
    and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Like

  10. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to looking at your web page yet again.

    Like

  11. I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering issues with your blog.
    It appears as though some of the text on your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to
    them as well? This may be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Thanks

    Like

  12. Pingback: Google
  13. Pingback: Google
  14. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?
    My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and
    my users would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present
    here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.