Port Address Translation(PAT) configuration in Packet Tracer


Welcome! In this tutorial, we’ll look at how to configure Port Address Translation (PAT) on a router in Packet Tracer. With PAT technique, one public IP address can be used to translate many private IP addresses for various internal devices (devices in a given private LAN). However,  a different port is assigned to each private IP address. Because many private IP addresses are mapped to one global IP address, PAT is also referred to as NAT overload.

PAT configuration is almost similar to dynamic NAT configuration, only that in PAT, you don’t have to create a pool of public IP addresses because the private addresses can map to just one public IP address. This public address may be the IP address of a router’s interface connecting to the outside networks.

Let’s now do configurations in Packet Tracer.

First build the network topology.

PAT basic topology.PNG

Then configure IP addresses on the router, the two laptops and the internet server.

Router IP configuration

Router(config)#int fa0/0
Router(config-if)#ip add 192.168.1.1  255.255.255.0
Router(config-if)#no shut
Router(config-if)#
Router(config-if)#int fa0/1
Router(config-if)#ip add 200.0.0.1 255.255.255.0
Router(config-if)#no shut

Host IP configurations

Laptop1:  IP add: 192.168.1.2/24    Default gateway: 192.168.1.1

Laptop2:  IP add: 192.168.1.3/24     Default gateway   192.168.1.1

Internet Server:  IP add: 200.0.0.10/24   Default gateway:   200.0.0.1

Now, to configure PAT on the router:

1.  Configure an inside interface on the router using ip nat inside command.

2. Configure an outside interface on the router using ip nat outside command.

3. Create an access-list of private IP addresses to be translated using the command access

4. Enable PAT on the router using the command ip nat inside source list ACL_NUMBER interface INTERFACE_TYPE overload.

Here are the  PAT configuration commands for the router:

Router(config)#int fa0/0
Router(config-if)#ip nat inside
Router(config-if)#

Router(config-if)#int fa0/1
Router(config-if)#ip nat outside
Router(config-if)#exit
Router(config)#access-list 1 permit 192.168.1.2 0.0.0.255
Router(config)#ip nat inside source list 1 int fa0/1 overload

That’s all we have to do for configurations. We’ll now move on to test whether the NAT translations are actually taking place.

To do this:

Ping the internet server from Laptop1, then from Laptop 2. If you hadn’t done that until now, the pings will trigger address translations on the router.

You can verify address translations using the command: show ip nat translations. 

See the results:

show ip nat transa

From the picture above, you can see that the same public address (outside local) has been used to translate the private addresses (inside local) of the two laptops, but using different port numbers.

Golden Tip: You can create an access list of private IP addresses and a pool of public IP addresses then enable Port Address Translation on a router in a similar way to dynamic NAT configuration. The only difference in configurations between PAT and dynamic NAT  if PAT configuration is done this way is the word overload.

And we are done! That’s it! PAT.

Hope this tutorial was helpful to you. Comment to help improve it.

All the best!

You may also like to read:

22 Replies to “Port Address Translation(PAT) configuration in Packet Tracer”

  1. Hello there, I discovered your website via Google at the same time
    as searching for a comparable topic, your web site came
    up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and located that it is truly informative.
    I’m gonna be careful for brussels. I will appreciate when you continue this
    in future. A lot of other folks shall be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you will be a
    great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back sometime soon.
    I want to encourage that you continue your great work, have a nice evening!

    Like

  3. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I
    get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone
    .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastic blog!

    Like

  4. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really
    make my blog stand out. Please let me know
    where you got your design. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Normally I don’t read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out
    and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me.
    Thanks, very great article.

    Like

  6. Hi there, You have done a fantastic job. I will
    definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.

    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

    Like

  7. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will be
    sure to bookmark your blog and will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great posts, have a nice morning!

    Like

  8. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired!
    Very helpful information particularly the last section 🙂 I care for such information much.
    I used to be looking for this certain info for a very long
    time. Thanks and best of luck.

    Like

  9. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your blog posts.

    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that
    go over the same subjects? Thank you so much!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Google

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.